eight questions with jason fisk

jason fisk appeared in issue number five of nibble with a poem called “An Unfulfilled Dream.”  he lives in chicago.  you can visit him at www.jasonfisk.com.

and now, here are eight questions with jason fisk:

What is your role in the small press?

This question kind of put me on my ass, and is making me think about my writing in broader terms than I’ve considered before. I guess I’ve never seen myself as anything more than a poet who is absolutely thrilled every time an editor decides to publish something I’ve written.

What is one thing people should know about you?

Fatherhood (x2) has enraptured and reformed me.

What are you working on right now that has you excited?

Two years ago, my brother-in-law and musician, Jeremy Michael Cashman, approached me with an idea of collaborating on a project. It didn’t really pick up steam until this February, when everything was done fermenting and just started flowing. Jeremy also seemed to experience something similar to the creative bursting of a dam. What resulted is a disc filled with about 50 minutes of awesome music that sets the stage for a pretty cool, jacked-up, narrative which flows through the seven song lyrics. This is all supplemented with poems and stories neatly packed into a nice little illustrated chapbook. We’re looking to release the project in Tucson, sometime in July or August. Live band and such…
 
I am also very excited about my first chapbook, The Sagging: Spirits and Skin, being released by Propaganda Press late spring / early summer of this year. It’s a collection of what I think are the best poems I’ve written over the past few years.

Name one thing you wish you had.

More free time.

Name one thing you have that you could do without.

Any sort of monthly payment.

Who is your favorite small press poet?

Ah man, this is a tough one. I honestly can’t list just one, so I’m taking artistic liberties with the question and changing it to “Who are some of your favorite small press poets?” Ahh, these would have to be, Justin Hyde, Luis Cuauhtemoc Berriozabal, and I’ve recently enjoyed leah angstman’s work.

Name one small press poetry mag, other than nibble, that everyone should read?

Again, I am amazed at what leah angstman is doing over at Alternating Current with Propaganda Press and her Poiesis litzine. Packed with great stuff…

Where do you want to see your own poetry?

Anywhere beyond my computer… I just get so excited after I write something, that putting my poetry out there after I’ve written something just feels natural to me. I had a friend tell me that my poetry was good toilet reading – I’m more than happy to take what I can get…

Here is jason’s poem from nibble number five:

An Unfulfilled Dream

dark red
and under
developed black
little real feet
hands skin and face
pruned from swimming
in her water pillow home
24 weeks and three days
warm raisin in my hands
you were supposed to play
with your cousins
you were supposed to create
poetic childhood memories
filled with bumps bruises
and dirt filled scrapes
instead you left
         gaping holes
in human hearts…

this post is the first in a series of mini interviews with poets who have appeared in nibble.  check back every friday for a new interview!

~ by nibblepoems on April 17, 2009.

3 Responses to “eight questions with jason fisk”

  1. Jason’s poem Sophie will always remain with me.
    When he’s on his game, he’s one of our best. Truly.

    – –
    Okay,
    Father Luke

  2. Father Luke, thank you so much for your kind words, and for including me in the fold. I’m honored.
    -jason

  3. “..good toilet reading…” should be the aspirational goal of all us poets and scribblers of tales..

    good words, sir…

Leave a Reply

 
