eight questions with amber nelson

amber nelson is a relative new comer to nibble. we are slowly getting to know her in the usual, old-fashioned ways: email and facebook.  she likes pie and camus, but doesn’t much care for weed whackers whacking at 8am in her neighborhood.

in our opinion, she is far too young to be so talented, smart and funny. 

amber nelson’s poetry appeared in issue number seven of nibble.

and now, eight questions with amber nelson:

What is your role in the small press?

I am a little bumblebee looking for an ear to hear my buzz.

What is one thing people should know about you?

Whenever I see a sow bug in a dangerous place (on a sidewalk or in my shower), I pick it up and bring it to safety.

What are you working on right now that has you excited?

In June I will be making dinner for a legendary San Francisco metal band.  I know this has nothing to do with poetry, but it has me very excited indeed.

Name one thing you wish you had.

A house in France with my future husband.

Name one thing you have that you could do without.

Allergies.  I’m pretty sure pollen has developed the technology to lock onto targets like myself.

Who is your favorite small press poet?

I am greatly moved by the work of Father Luke.

Name one small press poetry mag, other than nibble, that everyone should read?

Nerve Cowboy is incredibly good.

Where do you want to see your own poetry?

In the film Le Fabuleux Destin d’Amélie Poulain, the writer Hipolito sees himself quoted in graffiti on a Parisian wall.  That’s what I want.  I would also like to see my poetry in the hands of Henry Rollins.

Here is Amber’s poem as it appeared in nibble:

The Octopus’ Slumber

The sleepy thing
he pulls me in
I breathe
the noiseless deep,
he is like a
doe-eyed octopus
embracing eightfold
his favorite sunken
treasure
sweet octopus
in the quiet
his favorite thing
to do is to grab
and hold,
it comes naturally
like breathing.

check back next friday for a new eight and click on our ‘eight’ page to see past interviews!

~ by nibblepoems on June 5, 2009.

2 Responses to “eight questions with amber nelson”

  1. Gosh.

    – –
    Okay,
    Father Luke

  2. enjoyed it.

    I support saving bugs and other small living things from potential catastrophe. good show.

Leave a Reply

 
