eight questions with timothy gager

timothy gager is a boston poet heavily involved in the boston poetry scene.  an active facebooker and a writer of fiction, timothy was one of the first poets to submit to nibble.

you can learn more here.

and now, eight questions with timothy gager:

What is your role in the small press?

It’s not the size of the press it’s how you use it. Seriously I use it, support it, read it, enjoy it.

What is one thing people should know about you?

One thing? That I’m a bulldog in my writing, publishing and events I work on.

What are you working on right now that has you excited?

I have a book of flash coming out from Cervena Barva Press, maybe in the fall. I’m excited about working on tonight’s dinner as well.

Name one thing you wish you had.

A bungalow in Spain would be fantastic.

Name one thing you have that you could do without.

Not including what I already do without? I could do without text messaging—and Twitter!

Who is your favorite small press poet?

This is like asking me what my favorite song is. It depends on my mood and what day of the week. Am I unhappy before I sit and read or do I have a plate of cherry pie in front of me?

Name one small press poetry mag, other than nibble, that everyone should read?

Again…here’s the everyone. Everyone should read small press publications but they should not all read the same one. That would be homogeneous and dull. There are a lot of new publications that feature “best of the web” along with web or small press publications featured in The Pushcart or O’Henry Awards (for fiction)….Best American Fiction or Poetry, it’s endless like the Olde Country Buffet with a five-star chef. Part of the fun is the discovery.

Where do you want to see your own poetry?

I’d like to see it in people’s hands if I’m walking down the street or on a train or something. It would validate what I’m trying to do.

Here are timothy’s poems as they appeared in nibble:

Time Served

You’ve displaced the dissatisfaction with anger
found in paint peeling from the shutters,
plants now brown and crispy
stalks within the cracked soil of their home pots.

Today growing to die in this house
is no longer on your to-do list
but as you stand on the dock
kicking a pebble into the Sound—
there is a ferry pulling away.

Poem for Marya

we all wait for it
the way we wait for a bus

sitting on a painted bench
as life moves past us

wondering why, death
is never on schedule

i’m trying not to say
here: god is like the Metro

because they are corrupt
and god is only unfair

check back next friday for a new eight and click on our ‘eight’ page to see past interviews!

~ by nibblepoems on June 12, 2009.

2 Responses to “eight questions with timothy gager”

  1. I think cherry pie was invented to make people happy. Great interview!

  2. Nice.

    – –
    Okay,
    Father Luke

Leave a Reply

 
