eight questions with eric burke

eric burke is best known to us through his frequent and informational facebook posts.  his poetry appeared in nibble issues three, four, six and (soon) eight.

you can visit eric here.

and now, eight questions with eric burke:

What is your role in the small press?

I write poems and send them out and hope they catch with people who read a lot of poems. I also read a lot and mention things I like on my blog or on Facebook, my fear of which I have recently overcome.

What is one thing people should know about you?

I am 43. Since having become 43 (or thereabouts), this seems to me the most salient fact about myself. Childhood was great. Middle age is even better (so far). I finally feel like my imperfect perception of the world is about as good as everyone else’s. I am very curious whether this feeling will stick or will reverse itself during the next 20 years.

What are you working on right now that has you excited?

I am putting together my first chapbook manuscript. I hope to start submitting it this summer. Also, Jessi Graustein at Folded Word Press has given me the opportunity to write some articles on short form poetry for them. I am excited about working on these. Also, also, I am trying to learn Spanish. One of my friends has recently introduced me to Antonio Machado and other Spanish and Latin American poets. Looking back, I realize how incredibly spotty my education has been and how much really great stuff I have been missing out on.

Name one thing you wish you had.

Since you are not a genie or a demon, I guess this is a safe game to play. I would wish for a modest but guaranteed income (but not at the expense of anything more important — I don’t want any kind of inheritance etc.).

Name one thing you have that you could do without.

Needless anxiety.

Who is your favorite small press poet?

This depends on when you ask me. I go through phases. Right now, it is Doug Draime. There are also, of course, many, many poets who periodically knock my socks off with a poem or two. There are too many to mention, but this is one of the things that makes reading the small press exciting. It’s full of these surprises.

Name one small press poetry mag, other than nibble, that everyone should read?

I will name two, both online: Right Hand Pointing and elimae.

Where do you want to see your own poetry?

The Lilliput Review. I have also tried many times, and failed, to get into The New York Quarterly and DIAGRAM.

here are eric’s poems as they appeared in nibble:

From my Brother’s Diary

Math often took things away from me,
as if my private
fantasies
more properly belonged
to somebody with a better understanding.

he was science

until he discovered
science is not
solitary.

So it is with us:
We who are not kings
need to be

sovereign.

Footnote to a Father

*He built a secret fort in the crown of a great dead tree.
Everyday, he played there, way out of reach.

check back next friday for a new eight and click on our ‘eight’ page to see past interviews!

~ by nibblepoems on July 3, 2009.

One Response to “eight questions with eric burke”

  1. Very well done. Thank you both.

    – –
    Okay,
    Father Luke

Leave a Reply

 
