more kind words re: shades of green

I read your chapbook last night (Shades of Green) and again today. Very powerful. Along with your poems and a book I read some time ago (In the Combat Zone) and the memories I’ve heard from dear friends and new people I encounter, I have a better understanding of the Vietnam experience, it is closer to my heart. What I understand about it is that it was stamped onto the souls of the men who were there. As a teenager I can remember one of my father’s buddies, sometimes he would hear shit in the trees. He’d mumble some stuff as if no one else were there, talking to his self, but there would be three or four of us around drinking Bud longnecks and him gazing into the trees at night.

Well. I just wanted to tell you that your chapbook was a thought-provoking and enlightening read. Thank you for writing it, sir.

~ James Eric Watkins

read more.

just buy it.

~ by nibblepoems on February 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
